Must Listen: Margot and the Nuclear So and So’s

October 13, 2008

Daytrotter EP

Daytrotter EP

I first encountered Margot via iTunes’s Facebook sampler two summers ago. “Quiet as a Mouse”, the song included in the sampler, is a hauntingly beautiful song, with powerful, yet ghostly vocals. I listened to it quite frequently, but for some reason or another, didn’t research their other material.

Fast-forward three month ago, I see they’re playing at Lollapalooza. I downloaded a few more songs from their debut album, 2006’s The Dust of Retreat, including “Skeleton Key” and “A Light On a Hill”. Once again, I was pleasantly surprised with the whole feel of the music.

With the release of The Daytrotter Sessions EP, a five-song live performance for Daytrotter, Margot give the public a preview of their double album Animal! and Not Animal, released October 7th. Due to the relative proximity of the release, I can’t really formulate a complete opinion on the two albums, but for now, I prefer Daytrotter‘s stripped-down sound.

Amazon Link

(Editor’s Note: I’m a lazy ass. Wrote the first half of the article like three months ago. I figured I’d sacrifice my journalistic credibility for the sake of the band. /out)

Leave a Reply

