Zach’s Rogue Wave

August 3, 2008

Rogue Wave

 

Rogue Wave was the first band I saw at Lollapalooza. I had done my research, and knew every word to the eight songs that I had bought downloaded obtained. Unfortunately for my concert-going experience, Rogue Wave has released three albums. Seems as though there was more research to be done.

I find it kind of awkward when a band that I love plays a song I’ve never heard of, a song that everyone else around me knows. There’s an emotional disconnection that hits pretty hard as a result of this feeling, a disconnection that is counterproductive to the ideal concert experience. For me, anyway. This happened a few times throughout Rogue Wave, much to my dismay. Fortunately, the band was good enough to keep me engaged during said songs.

The most visually entertaining member of Rogue Wave was Gram LeBron, guitarist/pianist. Rocking the coveted English mustache, a news reporter hat, and an antique vest, Gram embodied the vintage style. He played three different instruments: a guitar, an M-Audio keyboard, and, a Lollapalooza staple, a Macbook. Zach Schwartz (a.k.a. Zach Rogue) completed the five piece band with his soft, ghostly voice, which was furthered by an ever-present echo. During “Chicago X 12”, guitarist Dominic East pulled out the slide guitar, adding a wonderful element to an already enchanting song.

Next, they played “California”, a song about their hatred of California. It was followed by a five-minute, atmospheric jam. I found it pretty perfect to be in the place that, according to their music, Rogue Wave, an Oakland, CA based band, loved the most.  I was able to feel their passion for the city I had also come to appreciate.

All of a sudden, 4 of the 5 band members picked up sticks and started drumming. After a few seconds, I, and a few other screaming crowd members, recognized the song. It was the one big song that the band hadn’t played yet, one of the most appropriate songs, rivaling “Homecoming” as THE most important song, that would be played throughout the entire three day festival, Lake Michigan. It was a stellar performance.

At the end of their set, I was content with the overall experience. Little did I know, another Rogue performance was coming my way.

At the Kidapalooza stage, there was a small, 15-minute slot alloted for Rogue Wave. I decided to check it out, assuming it was a record-signing.

To my surprise, it was an acoustic show. Running late, I was only able to see Lake Michigan. This was a significantly better performance than the one I had seen just a few hours earlier, if you can believe it. There’s something about the acoustic sound that “strikes a chord” with me.

Rogue waves,  are relatively large and spontaneous ocean surface waves that are a threat even to large ships and ocean liners.

That day, I was caught off guard by a Rogue Wave, and hit in the best way.

 

Setlist Included:

Love’s Lost Guarantee

Chicago X 12

Bird On A Wire

Publish My Love

Lake Michigan

Leave a Reply

